South Dakota on brink of passing ban on abortions of pain-capable unborn children

By Dave Andrusko

South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard

South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard

Two days ago, the South Dakota House overwhelming passed the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act, 59-7. The measure was returned to the Senate which had passed a slightly different version.

This morning, without further ado, the Senate concurred in the House bill. The measure is now on its way to the desk of pro-life Gov. Dennis Daugaard.

When Gov. Daugard signs the bill into law, South Dakota will be the 13th state to have enacted the Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act.

The other twelve are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

First enacted in 2010 by the state of Nebraska, the model Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act, drafted by National Right to Life’s Department of State Legislation, is legislation which protects from abortion unborn children who are capable of feeling pain.

The bill has widespread public support, as demonstrated by national polls.

To no one’s surprise, pro-abortionists hate the law and insist there is no scientific basis for the conclusion that unborn children are capable of experiencing pain certainly by 20 weeks after fertilization.

In fact there is an abundance of evidence. To read about just some of the extensive documentation, go to or

In discussing the bill, South Dakota state Rep. Isaac Latterell, the measure’s main House sponsor, said the bill recognizes “the humanity of unborn children” who can feel pain.

He added, “These are people just like you and me.”

In related news, the South Carolina Senate Tuesday approved its Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act. The bill now goes back to the House for final approval.

If both house pass the measure it would become law upon the signature of Governor Nikki Haley.