Florida parental consent bill on its way to full Senate

By Dave Andrusko

Pro-life Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis

Beating back 28 amendments from pro-abortion committee Democrats, Senate Republicans on the Florida Rules Committee approved SB 404,a bill which would require teenagers under the age of 18 to obtain permission from their parents or legal guardian before having an abortion. 

“The Senate, which has a 23-17 GOP majority, is poised to approve the bill next week, sending it to the House, which has been waiting for a floor vote on its parental-consent bill (HB 265),” according to reporter  Lloyd Dunkelberger of the Florida Phoenix.

“The bills are not identical, but Senate President Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton, told reporters he anticipates the House will take up and pass the Senate version,” Christine Sexton of the Sun-Sentinel reported.

Earlier this month, in his Second State of the State address, pro-life Gov. Ron DeSantis said, “I hope that the Legislature will send me this session the parental consent bill that last year was passed by the House but not by the Senate.”

Sen. Rob Bradley, R-Fleming Island said yesterday, “It’s not only the right of the unborn, but the right of parents to raise their children.”

Previously,  sponsor Sen. Kelli Stargel said this was personal for her. Stargel became pregnant as a teenager and feared telling her mother:

“When I spoke to her, she actually advised (I have) an abortion,” Stargel said. “I didn’t go that direction. We had a discussion about it and when I told her I wanted to have my child she supported me. I think those same things may happen in a situation with other families.”

In 1989, the state Supreme Court struck down the state’s  parental consent law on the grounds that it violated a “right to privacy” in the state Constitution. However, since he became governor, DeSanctis has replaced three justices on the state’s highest court— Justices Barbara Pariente, Fred Lewis and Peggy Quince—who had reached the mandatory retirement age of 70. They were replaced by  Barbara Lagoa, Robert Luck, and Carlos Muniz.